Summer Roadtrip! Sunshine Coast, BC

So my blog has been in desperate need of a little TLC lately! Although with only less than 6 weeks left in Canada, I have been cramming all my spare time trying to make the most of my last weeks.

Last weekend, I went on a mini road trip to Sunshine Coast- a 40 minute ferry ride from West Vancouver. We were meant to go camping for the weekend, but we stupidly didn’t realize it was BC Day on the Monday so all camp grounds were FULLY booked. Note to self- always research public holidays!

So with a 5:15am departure time, an amazing sunrise over the mountains, and a $40 penalty because we were late for the ferry (we can blame the mandatory Tim Horton’s coffee stop for that), we set sail from Horseshoe Bay to Langley, Sunshine Coast. The journey was so beautiful – so many islands, and a stunning clear day.

We drove straight to the top of Sunshine Coast to a town called Egmont and made our way back down the coast stopping in all secluded beach spots. Egmont itself is such a cute town- it felt like a vintage sailors village. Although parking in such a small village on a long weekend was a nightmare – so we pretty much drove around trying to get pictures out of the window. If I ever end up back there, I would definitely try to camp there!

We stopped a few times across the drive back down, however due to the time restraint we couldn’t make it to all the places we wanted to go. We did make it to Half Moon Bay, Sechelt and Gibsons and an other bunch of little bays which names I cannot remember though. I thought a lot of the bays reminded me of New Zealand (especially around the Golden Bay area) and my friend from the Central Coast in New South Wales, Australia also said it felt a lot like home to him as well. I was really excited when I saw a Fish and Chip shop in Gibsons (a little seaside town near the ferry terminal) however extremely disappointed when we went inside and they only really sold burgers and fries! No option for a scoop of chips and a piece of fish 😦 Instead we had lunch at a Grammas Marine Pub right on the waterfront. Ordered the Fish and Chips (of course) and it was amazing! Such a big serving as well – we split the one meal and were both stuffed!

So in true Emily form, we checked the time, realized we were running late for the ferry (again!) and ended up bolting back to the car and speeding back to the ferry terminal, so I didn’t get a chance to take any photos of the views from the restaurant. We got to the ferry right before the check in closed, and then it ended up being 30 minutes late! After sitting in the car in the direct sunlight for that long, I was more than happy to get back on the ferry and enjoy the fresh ocean air on the outside decks on the way back to the mainland.

As much as I wished I had spent longer there, I am SO happy we still made the most of our day and explored a little of the island! Money very well spent!

 

I wanted to take an artys roadtrip picture... Not going to lie though, this isn't even a map for Sunshine Coast!

I wanted to take an artsy road trip picture… Not going to lie though, this isn’t even a map for Sunshine Coast!

 

The sunrise on our way down the Sea to Sky Highway, between Whistler and Vancouver

The sunrise on our way down the Sea to Sky Highway, between Whistler and Vancouver

 

I want to say this is Half Moon Bay... but to bne honest I am not 100% sure anymore which one was which! Bad traveller, I know!

I want to say this is Half Moon Bay… but to be honest I am not 100% sure anymore which one was which! Bad traveler, I know!

 

Once again, I THINK this is Ruby Lake but not certain! Too many pretty bays!

Once again, I THINK this is Ruby Lake but not certain! Too many pretty bays!

 

The pier at Sechelt, one of the larger towns on Sunshine Coast

The pier at Sechelt, one of the larger towns on Sunshine Coast

 

The stunning ferry ride between Horseshoe Bay and Langley

The stunning ferry ride between Horseshoe Bay and Langley

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

