Another day, another hike… the Ancient Cedars Trail.

I am pretty proud of myself that in the 2 out of 14 days I have had off recently, I have sent myself off on some pretty stunning (and hard) hikes. My second hike of the summer was the Ancient Cedars Trail. I had read that it was a relatively easy hike, and after walking up the Ice Walls on Whistler mountain a few days before that is exactly what I felt like.

None of us had access to a car, so we decided to catch the bus to Emerald which is the furthest stop we could get to and walk from there. What we didn’t realize, was that it was a 15 minute walk from the bus stop to the bottom of Cougar Mountain where the trail is located, then a 4.5km walk mostly uphill (not too steep though) to the trail entrance. We were already pretty tired by the time we got there! The trail itself was about 5km, half of it being on relatively steep, uneven terrain. We tried to break it up by having plenty of photo stops, however there was a crazy amount of mosquitoes that would swarm us every time we stopped moving. At least that gave us motivation to keep going!

The whole hike took us about 4-4.5 hours, and it would have taken longer if there wasn’t a lovely couple who gave us a lift from near the bottom of Cougar Mountain back into the village. By that time our legs were tired and we were pretty hungry, so we were so grateful for them!

 

I don't really know what face I was pulling here... but the Cedar trees were HUGE!

I don’t really know what face I was pulling here… but the Cedar trees were HUGE!

 

There were a bunch of these little Inukshuks scattered around the place. They were used as a way of communication between Inuits to let each other know that they were on the right path, or that they had been there.

There were a bunch of these little Inukshuks scattered around the place. They were used as a way of communication between Inuits to let each other know that they were on the right path, or that they had been there.

Part of the easier pretty part of the trail

Part of the easier pretty part of the trail

Such a stunning view point along the way!

Such a stunning view-point along the way!

 

The weather for my next couple of days off are looking to be rainy and overcast, so I am glad I got these two hikes in so I don’t feel as bad about spending this weekend relaxing and watching Netflix!

 

Leave a Reply

