Throwback Thursday: The Walled Goodness of San Gimignano

Happy Thursday/Wednesday night!

Today’s throwback is dedicated to one of the most surprisingly beautiful cities I have ever visited. I had never heard of this town before I got here, it was on our Contiki itinerary but I had overlooked it and just saw it as a pit stop from Rome to Florence. The night before we visited, I had a huge night out at a club in Rome and was not feeling very flash at all. I almost even missed the bus- probably the only downside to getting my own hotel room through out the tour was no roomie to make sure I was awake! Luckily I had my friends knocking down my door for ten minutes and helping me pack my suitcase in record timing!San Gimignano, Tuscany, Italy

I would LOVE to go back here and be in a better frame of mind to truly experience it. The walled medieval town has so much amazing history- according to legend, this town dates back to 64B.C when two brothers escaped from Rome after their involvement in  conspiracy. They built two castles, Castle of Mucchio and the Castle of Silvia, and these later developed into the town of San Gimignano.

It really does feel like your stepping back in time when you enter through the walls- and it is home to literally the World’s Best Gelato! Although it did take us a while (and a whole lot of Gelato) to actually taste Gelato from this shop as so many other shops had signs up claiming they were also the Worlds Best Gelato!

I guess a half the point in doing a Contiki is to get a taste of places you want to go back to and explore more- but it really was a tease just spending about 2 hours here! I am definitely keen to head back next time I visit Italy and experience some of the local delicacies such as the wines, the cheeses, the olive oils… there were so many picturesque restaurants around that were calling my name!

My photo’s can’t even come close to capturing how magical this place feels, but I hope it gives you a small taste!

San Gimignano, Tuscany, Italy

San Gimignano, Tuscany, Italy  San Gimignano, Tuscany, Italy

San Gimignano, Tuscany, Italy

San Gimignano, Tuscany, Italy

One thought on “Throwback Thursday: The Walled Goodness of San Gimignano

Leave a Reply

