Throwback Thursday… Magical Madrid

Madrid was my very first real life glimpse of Europe I ever got, and for that reason (and many more!) this city will always hold a spot in my heart.

We had flown to Madrid from Seoul, South Korea. After getting slightly lost in the airport (a corridor led us to a staircase… with a wall at the bottom and nowhere to go…) we caught the metro into the city. The trip itself took all of about 15 minutes, but one thing I hate about metros and subways is how they are underground so you can’t take in all the scenery while your travelling. I was just so ready after years of waiting to travel Europe to get out and explore the place I had only ever dreamed of being!

Those steps out of the metro station did not disappoint… The moment I walked out on to Gran Via I was in total awe. The buildings were more spectacular than I had imagined. To be honest I didn’t really have many expectations for Madrid, it was just the cheapest city for me to fly into with my itinerary. But I am so glad I got to see the city- so rich in history, good shopping, amazing food…

Here are a few pics of my quick visit!

So this is the staircase in Madrid's airport that leads to nowhere... confusing much??

So this is the staircase in Madrid’s airport that leads to nowhere… confusing much??

Our room at Hostal Ballesta. Great location- just off Gran Via, right in the heart of the city. Well priced as well- definitely recommend this place!

Our room at Hostal Ballesta. Great location- just off Gran Via, right in the heart of the city. Well priced as well- definitely recommend this place!

One of many of Madrid's beautiful buildings

One of many of Madrid’s beautiful buildings

Just can never get enough of Spain's amazing tapas!

Just can never get enough of Spain’s amazing tapas!

Royal Palace of Madrid

7 thoughts on “Throwback Thursday… Magical Madrid

    • Thanks! Yea finding my way out of the airport was so confusing and that didn’t help whatsoever! I really miss the tapa’s in Spain… Tapa’s anywhere else just aren’t the same!

Leave a Reply

