Throwback Thursday- Queenstown, New Zealand

I love the idea of Throwback Thursday, except I never remember to do them on Instagram! So I thought if I have a weekly Throwback on my blog, I will HAVE to remember ( and if I don’t there is always Flashback Friday :P).

My first Throwback Thursday is dedicated to my favourite place (so far) in my country, New Zealand. I still have a few more places I really want to see in New Zealand (the Marlborough Sounds, the Coromandel, and Bay of Plenty are still on my hit list!). Queenstown though is by far the most stunning place I have seen yet, and Wanaka is beautiful to. I would love to get down there in the winter! Hopefully I will be a pro snowboarder by the time I come home from Whistler and can get down and try out the mountains down there 🙂

Summer is just so amazing down there though, although it does it get busy it isn’t as full on as the middle of winter. The best time to go would be around February-March, when the weather is still nice but the New Zealand school holidays are over. These photos were taken when I was there in February 2011 with my mum, and the weather was perfect! It is also the best time to do all the extreme tourist activities Queenstown is renowned for – Bungee Jumping, White Water Rafting, Jetboating, Skydiving… unfortunately I haven’t yet done any of these, although I have taken a trip on the TSS Earnslaw ( a 1912 Edwardian vintage twin screw steamer, aka a cool boat that takes you on a cruise to look at the pretty scenery!) and also gone up the gondola to look out over the views of the lakes and mountains. Much tamer options! Next time I go back to Queenstown I have a lot to fit in!

Queenstown, New Zealand

Queenstown, New Zealand

Queenstown, New Zealand

2 thoughts on “Throwback Thursday- Queenstown, New Zealand

  1. Pingback: Your Essential Travel Checklist: 5 Things You’ll Need in Queenstown, New Zealand | Roomer Blog

Leave a Reply

